December 17, 2011: Sky Lanterns

    Sky lanterns, also known as Kongming Lantern or Chinese lanterns are airborne paper lanterns that are best known as a tradition found in some Asian cultures. They are constructed from oiled rice paper on a bamboo frame, and contain a small candle or fuel cell composed of a waxy flammable material. When lit, the flame heats the air inside the lantern, thus lowering its density causing the lantern to rise into the air. The sky lantern is only airborne for as long as the flame stays alight, after which the lantern sinks back to the ground.

–oOo–

I have always planned to put this  entry in my blog. But due to several alibis, and by being such a loser at updating, I wasn’t able to. So you see, the event was dated December 17 last year. I could have already updated that night but then I realized that the camera and most importantly, the SD Card, was inside my mom’s room. I know she’s already too tired because of the day’s activities so I didn’t dared to wake her up.

Anyway, I was the one in-charge of the Flying of the Lanterns. I bought them from a supplier here in Manila. I ordered 50 lanterns and there were a few lanterns left. I wasn’t able to photograph the whole event because I instructed the people how to use the lantern.

The first part of the evening was the lighting of the bonfire and a few singing of songs and some games. Everybody were already excited to fly the lanterns so we flew it early.

And, Let the Photos talk.

The Fire
That's me lighting a lantern.
One of the Lanterns

 

I wasn’t able to take photos of the lanterns in the sky because the lantern’s flew one-by-one which is not really that attention-getting so I din’t. But I had a few photos of those lanterns in the sky but am not posting it. c(: Sorry.

Leave a Reply

